Kate Gallego, Democrat, elected as Phoenix Mayor

March 14, 2019: Kate Gallego, Democrat, was elected as the Mayor of Phoenix in a mayoral special runoff election held on Tuesday, March 12, 2019. Gallego defeated Daniel Valenzuela, Democrat, in the non-partisan election. As of 9 p.m. Tuesday, March 12, Gallego had 72,726 votes, or 58.67 percent of the tally, to Valenzuela's 51,241 votes, or 41.33 percent. Gallego won the general runoff election on March 12, 2019, after advancing from the general special election that was held on Nov. 6, 2018. Former Phoenix Mayor Greg Stanton, Democrat, resigned last year, 2018, to successfully run for Congress, setting the stage for the special election to complete the remainder of his term. Gallego and Valenzuela are both former Phoenix City Councilmen. The mayoral election is officially non-partisan, but both candidates are Democrats. Gallego will have to re-run for the mayoral position next year, 2020, as Stanton's term ends in April, 2021. Gallego, 37, is a Phoenix transplant. She grew up in New Mexico and moved to Phoenix after she graduated from Harvard and received a master of business administration degree from the University of Pennsylvania. Before she took office as a Phoenix City Councilman, Gallego worked on strategic planning and economic development for the Salt River Project. Gallego is the second elected female Mayor of Phoenix, and the first mother with a small child to hold the position; Gallego has a 2-year-old son. Gallego was the District 8 Member of the Phoenix City Council for four-and-a-half years, from 2013 to 2018. She resigned from office on August 7, 2018, to run for Mayor. Gallego received a B.S. degree in environmental studies from Harvard.

Attribution: The Arizona Republic, The Phoenix Business Journal, Ballotpedia

More News