Tony Evers, Democrat, officially sworn in as Governor of Wisconsin

Jan. 9, 2019: Tony Evers, Democrat, was officially sworn in as the Governor of Wisconsin on Monday, Jan. 7, 2019. Evers was sworn in at a ceremony held at the State Capitol rotunda in Madison, the state capital of Wisconsin. Evers succeeds Scott Walker, Republican, who Evers defeated in the general election held in November, 2018. Walker held the position for the last eight years. Evers’ election win marks the first time since 1986 that all Wisconsin state government constitutional officers are Democrats. Evers took the oath of office from Wisconsin Supreme Court Chief Justice Pat Roggensack. In addition to Evers, all other constitutional officers elected in November, 2018, were also sworn into office. Those were Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes, Attorney General Josh Kaul, Treasurer Sarah Godlewski and Secretary of State Doug La Follette. La Follette is the only incumbent. Barnes is the first black Lieutenant Governor in Wisconsin history. Newly- elected Members of the State Legislature also took office on Monday, Jan. 7, 2019. In the State Assembly, sixty-three Republicans and thirty-six Democrats were seated. Of them, eight Republicans and seven Democrats are new. In the State Senate, eleven Republicans and six Democrats took office. Of them, three Republicans and one Democrat are new. Republicans will hold a 19-14 majority in the State Senate.

Attribution: Fox 6 Milwaukee, The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

More News